English Churches - Cambridgeshire
The Nave and Side Aisles
nave really does have the WOW factor with its three rows of
round arches soaring to the ceiling. It is breathtaking with
its Norman architecture and painted ceiling. It is also very
long, reflecting the power and importance of the newly
arrived Normans. This must rank as one of the best
cathedrals in the country.
The side aisles have vaulted stone ceilings and blind Norman arcading along the walls.
The Prior’s Door on the south wall dates from around 1135. Near it is Ovin's stone, which is the base of a wayside cross from a nearby village. The Latin inscription translates as ‘Give o God to Ovin your light and rest. Amen
The South door by the south transept leads into the remains of the cloisters and has a beautifully carved outside.
Tombs along the side aisles reflect the changing styles of architecture from the early C17th tomb of dean Henry Caesar, to the simple memorial to the early C18th Bishop William Fleetwoord to the Victorian Gothic style of C19th Bishop James Russell with its iron railings.
||Back to top